Going Beyond The Academy

Hello friends,

I was reading through Liz Covart’s Uncommonplace Book blog, and I really encourage you all to check it out.  I was just reading a great article about taking the career as a historian beyond the world of academia.  Here is an excerpt of the post. . .

Do I want to be an academic historian? I began having doubts about my career path during my last three years in graduate school. I had applied to grad school to become professionally-trained version of David McCullough. However, in my first quarter I replaced that goal with a desire for an academic career. No one forced this ambition on me per se, but my seminars, department workshops, and training were all geared towards preparing me for a tenure-track job. After imbibing on this academic dream for seven years, I found it difficult to confront the fact that I did not want to be a traditional academic.

Read the rest of the article here and enjoy!

-Phil

About

Christian, Lover of History, Aspiring Teacher

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Some Simple Rants On History, Thoughts from Other Historians, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
