Just A Bit Bored Today

Hey friends,

I can’t lie.  Today has been pretty unproductive for me.  It is my last day until my summer work schedule begins, so I spent it just resting and getting prepared for my shift tomorrow.  I woke up hoping to catch a good show on the History Channel.  Unfortunately I was met with shows that belong either on A&E or the Discovery Channel.  Come on History Channel, pick up your game and bring back the good stuff.

Does anyone remember the days of “Decisive Battles,” “Tales of the Gun,” or the specials on World War II, or even the specials on Arthurian Legend?  I miss those days.  Now with “Swamp People,” Aliens, and all this stuff, I feel like as a lover of the past I do not really have a place to run to for a source of history.  Sure the “Vikings” show is really interesting, but it is only on once a week, and that is the only real history show on.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Pawn Stars, but after a while instead of seeing Rick appraise an 18th century flintlock pistol for $20, I’d like to see stories about 18th Century warfare where the pistol was used.  Yet alas I fear that I will have to keep waiting patiently (ok so I’m not waiting too patiently) and looking to Netflix for some specials, or search through bookstores for some DVD specials.

-Phil

About

Christian, Lover of History, Aspiring Teacher

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Some Simple Rants On History, Teaching History

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
