He’s So Smart, Why Is He Studying History?

Hey friends,

So the other day I was talking to my mom about history.  I was talking about some of the books I was reading, and some of the course content that I learned this past year.  In the midst of the conversation my mom brought up that someone had told her “He is so smart, why is he studying history?”  While I am flattered that they find me intelligent, I was also a little off-put by the comment.  What is it with our culture that decides that majoring in the humanities is not considered one of the intelligent roads to go?  It is almost considered a waste if you don’t major in some sort of science field, and I’ll be honest, it frustrates me.

The humanities are the foundation of academic society.  Without the vital lessons from the humanities there is nothing to build the other realms of academia on (at least in my opinion).   In regards to history, don’t you want people you consider smart to interpret the past and figure out its significance during that time and figure out if there are any lessons to be drawn from the past?  I look to history because I realize those voices can be heard with the right amount of research, and significance can possibly be found.

So yeah I study history.  I don’t study business, science, or medicine.  Why?  Because I believe my calling is with history.  Sure the other paths would probably lead to more wealth, but I’m not into the future for the money.  Studying history is my passion, and it is a passion that I actively pursue.  I don’t just know what I know out of thin air.  It has taken lots of learning, and there is still lots of learning ahead — but I would not have it any other way.  Smart people can study history too — I know plenty of people who do.

-Phil

About

Christian, Lover of History, Aspiring Teacher

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Some Simple Rants On History
5 comments on “He’s So Smart, Why Is He Studying History?
  1. johnfea says:

    I’m sorry to hear about this, Phil. Having said that, we are all VERY glad you are studying history.

  2. […] I came across an old article that Kevin wrote.  It’s funny, how his intro reminds me of a post I wrote about a month or so ago.  Here is a part of his post. . […]

  3. […] 9) He’s So Smart, Why Is He Studying History? – Phil […]

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
