Hi everyone and a little Star Trek Monday

I’m so excited to be writing for Reckless Historians and I want to send a huge thank you to Phil for giving me this opportunity!
While I was trying to figure out what I should blog about for my inaugural post, I saw Phil’s post about Ronald Reagan and Star Wars which you should read. This led to a Jimmy Neutron-esque brain blast for me and I decided to write on the creation of Star Trek. For those who don’t know, I’m a huge Trekkie, and I’ve always wondered what led to the creation of this futuristic sci-fi show that has a current total of six television series and twelve films based on the original show. So, I did some digging into the history of Star Trek and I found out that Gene Roddenberry, the creator of Star Trek, actually came up with the idea for the show based on real life events. Roddenberry was a pilot during World War II which led to his idea for the Enterprise. About eight years before Star Trek premiered, a film starring Leslie Nielson, entitled “Forbidden Planet” also came out. Although I’d never even heard of this movie until researching, it follows Leslie Nielson’s character who is the commander of a space cruiser, and Roddenberry based a great deal of Star Trek on this movie. Finally, two real events happened which helped bring about the creation of Star Trek. They were the launching of Sputnick in 1957, and the launching of the first human into space in 1961. Just three years later Star Trek began and has been continued on in various forms since 1964.
If you’ve never seen Star Trek before, I highly recommend watching it. For beginners, I would recommend the episode The Trouble with Tribbles, and then the movie The Voyage Home. Both are my personal favorites. So, thanks for reading, and live long and prosper!

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
