Thinking About History and Resident Life

Hello friends,

I know that I have mentioned on here before that I serve as a Resident Assistant on campus.  It is a rewarding experience as I interact with residents and my staff.  I have learned to celebrate with those who celebrate and cry with those who cry.  I have learned to develop a deeper understanding of others and seek truth.  I get to plan fun events and do things I never thought I would do (like run a 5K, do a High Ropes course, and sing karoke).

After a lot of prayer and thought I think that I want to make a career out of working in higher education.  I experience so much joy in starting with a staff that in August barely knows each other and seeing how by the end of the year the staff is not ready to part.  I want to be able to meet residents where they are at, help guide them, and listen to their thoughts as they share them.

Truthfully, I can’t think of a better major to have as an undergraduate when pursuing an MA in Higher Ed than a history degree.

As a historian, I am daily called to listening to people.  I am called to look at both sides and put biases aside.  I compile and interpret data and information.  I empathize with others on a regular basis to understand them and to ensure that their voice is granted a stage.

When residents come to me with anything, celebrations or frustrations, the training I have received thus far in my path as a historian has led me to effectively accomplish goals, respect my residents, and serve them as well.

As I fill out my application for grad school and my applications for GA positions, I certainly hope I am asked how being a history major can help me accomplish my mission, because I know that I am competent to do this kind of work specifically because I am a history major.  I pray that the Lord will give me an opportunity to show people just how valuable a degree in history can be in multiple different ways.

-Phil

About

Christian, Lover of History, Aspiring Teacher

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
