Democracy of Blogging

Hey friends,

As an undergrad student, when I submit papers I regularly think, “Who am I to write about this issue, I don’t have my bachelor’s and I am making some pretty big statements.”  Today at the Phi Alpha Theta inductions, I was talking to a couple of my professors about Reckless Historians and the direction of this blog.  One them discussed how this blog can really serve as a voice for the undergrad students.

I have a funny feeling that if I went to an AHA meeting or another similar convention, chances are I would not have the opportunities to interact with all the historians that I do.  Whether it is reading Liz CovartThe Junto, or even engaging with my own professor on The Way of Improvement Leads Home, this blog has provided me with a rich opportunity to interact with some incredible historians who are out in the field doing great work.  I have been able to read the latest scholarship in history, as well as do my best to try to contribute to the public dissemination of history.

I think that blogging is a great way to contribute to the public outreach in history.  People generally don’t ready long books for leisure — a true tragedy — but they will hop online and read a brief post, and that is our way in.  Really what blogging does is it creates a democratic atmosphere.  Those with doctorates and those working on undergrads can work together to create historical meaning.

All this to say, from the bottom of my heart, I want to thank everyone, professors, grad students, undergrads, and those who pursue history with a passion in general for allowing Reckless Historians to enter into this conversation, and be able to help create dialogue across the historical blogosphere.

-Phil

About

Christian, Lover of History, Aspiring Teacher

Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Democracy of Blogging
  1. johnfea says:

    Great conversation today, Phil. Keep blogging!!

  2. Liz Covart says:

    Congrats on your induction into Phi Alpha Theta, Phil. It is a fantastic accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
