How Many History Majors Does it Take to Start a Fire

Hi everyone!

Today was the annual Department of History picnic. This is a fun tradition we have at Messiah where all of the students and available faculty come together for some time to relax and join together in fellowship before the start of finals this week. This is one of my favorite things about attending Messiah. We have the opportunity to interact with our department outside of the stressful academic environment and get to know each other better as people. Today, for instance, I had the opportunity to play card games with my professors. How many students at other colleges can say that they’ve had that experience?

When I arrived at the picnic, I found four of my fellow history majors standing around a grill, looking at it as though it was a calculus problem that they couldn’t wrap their minds around. Once I got over to them, I saw what the problem was: they couldn’t light the charcoal in the grill. It was then that I discovered that there is one thing that studying history hasn’t taught us. At Messiah, we talk a great deal about transferable skills that come with studying history. I’ve never been able to find something that I couldn’t figure out with the skills I’ve learned from studying history. Today was the day that I found something. It took over an hour for five of us to figure out how to light this fire in the grill. Well, now we know how, and it was, in fact, thanks to the History Department. Overall, the day was a wonderful day of fellowship and relaxation before the start of finals on Thursday.

Four Messiah History majors gathered around the grill at the picnic.

Four Messiah History majors gathered around the grill at the picnic.

Posted in Some Simple Rants On History
2 comments on “How Many History Majors Does it Take to Start a Fire
  1. johnfea says:

    Rachel: I didn’t see the other “Reckless Historian” at the picnic?

    • Phil says:

      I was planning on it! My ResLife staff is planning a worship event for all of the north side of campus, and we had to move our meeting time for it. :/ I was bummed to miss out!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Reckless Historians on WordPress.com
